I never considered myself a hoarder until…

I never considered myself a hoarder until I was made to clear out our study. This room in the house had essentially turned into our junk room, where things went ‘to get sorted’ and then never got sorted.

hoarding
Photo sourced from www.theage.com.au

I married a man who comes from a family who loves minimalism and he married a woman who holds onto memories, thus being the problem. Hubby was pretty ruthless and I must admit I didn’t realise how attached to ‘stuff’ I was until he wanted to throw things out that I couldn’t part with or still saw use in e.g. rolls of christmas wrap.

I have watched a number of hoarding shows in the past and whilst my place is in no way like any of those houses (or the image above), parting with items was more difficult and upsetting than I thought it would be. I got particularly upset when my husband said he’d continue sorting through my things, whilst I changed out little one. I got upset because I knew I’d come back and find things gone that I didn’t want to part with.

I did learn to let go throughout the day and managed to fill a rubbish bin, take four boxes to the Kidney Foundation for resale and sell a few items on ebay. I was quite impressed with myself and now we have a clean study to show for it.

Now for the rest of the house!

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Home, Other and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

