Homemade Playdough

I take my hat off to daycare workers because it’s not always easy coming up with new, entertaining activities for the kids, including toddlers.

Something I had been wanting to try out with my 13 month old toddler is playdough. So instead of buying it from the store the other day, I decided to make it for myself. It only takes a couple of minutes to make and will captivate the kids for a good half hour or so. The photos you’ll capture from their first playdough experience are also priceless – especially when they decide to taste it!

This is the recipe I used the other day:

Ingredients for Playdough
2 Cups Flour (sift, so you don’t get lumps)
1/2 Cup Salt (yep, that’s a lot of salt!)
2 Tbl. Oil
2 Tbl. Cream of Tartar
2 Cups Boiling Water (add in slowly, in case you don’t need it all)
Food colouring (if desired)

Method
Mix all of the above ingredients together and add in food colouring, until you get the colour you want. Playdough can keep for up to 6 months in the fridge.

I decided to make green playdough!

Playdough
Here’s my little one testing it out in the high chair.

Playing with playdough

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Creativity, Food, Kids and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

