Learning to Sew

Having attended an all girls high school, I always felt sad that home economics wasn’t offered as a subject. Instead, we learnt how to make coloured perspex keychains and 3D puzzles in a woodworking class. I can’t say I’ve used either of those skills since and am still a pretty terrible cook (in comparison to my husband).

To half make up for this missed education, I bought myself a sewing machine two years ago and have been gradually teaching myself how to sew. I am still getting the hang of it but have managed to make some clothing items, drawstring bags, baby burp cloths and bibs. I can even tell you when interfacing is now!

Earlier in the week, I decided to try my hand at making my first bag. I used a KWIK Sew pattern and followed it to a tee. I used some leftover fabric I had stored away. The finished product is illustrated below. I am quite happy with the final result, even if the bag is a bit smaller than I thought it would be.

Now I wonder what my next sewing project be?

KWIK Sew Hand Bag Pattern
photo(4)

photo(2)

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

