Jungle Themed 1st Birthday

Phew, the all important 1st birthday is now over and done with! I spent the better part of two days cooking / baking for it but it was worth it. Everyone seemed to have a good time. We held it in a park and so I’m also very thankful that the wind decided to die down from the gale it was the day before.

I have an absolute love for creating events and decided to create a jungle themed 1st birthday party for my son. It entailed the following items:

  • A two tiered jungle themed fondant birthday cake
  • Tiger tails = carrot sticks
  • Monkey bites = banana lollies
  • Snake pit = snakes lollies
  • Elephant slice = natural slice made for a friend with a few food allergies, mind you this went very fast amongst guests – get the recipe here
  • Safari sandwiches = fairy bread and vegemite sandwiches for the kids
  • Hungry Hippo Fruit Cups = fruit salad in ice-cream cups
  • Parrot scones = scones a friend had made
  • Rhino quiches = quick and easy bacon, cheese and onion quiches, as well as smoked salmon and philly cheese quiches
  • Zebra cakes = cakes pops decorated like zebra stripes; white chocolate with dark chocolate drizzled over there
  • Leafy greens = tomato, basic and boccocini skewers with ends cut off
  • Jungle Juice = tropical fruit drink
  • Swamp water = green cordial
  • Printables for food labels, a jungle train and lolly bags
  • Homemade trees and cake pop stands
  • Lion costume for the little one from the discount store
  • Photos of the past 11 months in bunting
  • Time capsule for him to open on his 18th birthday

Here’s some of the photos from the party. Please bare in mind that this was my first attempt with fondant and that I’m yet to master the tylose glue. I think I may have needed some wire to help the fondant characters a bit better too – it was a learning experience.

Cake 2

The party table

  Table

 More decorations and food

Cake

My attempt at fondant

DSC_9697

My little lion

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Events, Food, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

