Barracking for the Cane Toads

Tomorrow marks the kick off to the 2014 State of Origin season. It is also a special event because it marks the 100th game ever played.

State_of_Origin_Logo


What is the State of Origin?

For my international readers, the State of Origin is a rugby league competition between New South Wales (the cockroaches) and Queensland (the cane toads). Each year three matches are played, regardless of the fact that the first two may have been won by one team. If this occurs, then that team has obviously won the series but the game is played out of sportsmanship anyway.

Results
For the last 8 years, Queensland has won the series. This unfortunately means that New South Wales have been the butt of many jokes e.g. the last time NSW won the State of Origin…

  • John Howard was Prime Minister
  • Steve Jobs was still sketching out ideas for the iPhone
  • Facebook was called ‘The Facebook’
  • Tom Cruise hadn’t jumped on Oprah’s couch yet

Why it’s special to me
I’ll be the first to admit I’m not big on watching sports but the State of Origin has always had a special place in my heart – I relate it back to family moments. My Nanna (of all people) used to love watching it and after she had her stroke many years ago and was recovering at my parent’s place, we’d watch the series together. My Nanna was very dear to me. My son was also born just before the kick off to the 3rd match of one of the recent games and I remember the Doctor wanting my baby to be born before the match, so they could go upstairs and watch the game. As it was, the TV was screening commentary in the delivery room.

Best wishes to NSW for tomorrow night but I’m barracking for the Cane Toads!

 

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barracking for the Cane Toads

  1. Birgit says:

    Gees, 8 years was a long time ago. Those facts are a little distressing!

    Like

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

