When Asked to Bring Nibbles

Today was my mother-in-law’s surprise birthday party and my sister-in-law had asked our family to bring nibbles.

Now we could have just gone down the direct route of bringing chips and dip but we opted for a somewhat different idea. My husband used to make what he calls ‘echidnas’ with his mum, so in celebration of her birthday, we decided to make them.

To make an echidna, you need to string bites of food onto toothpicks and then drive the toothpicks into an orange.

IMG_2700

The orange then sits on a scrunched bit of alfoil (which acts as a base for the echidna, so the orange doesn’t roll). I wouldn’t suggest cutting the orange at the bottom to make the base flat, unless you are happy to have orange juce mixed in with the other elements of food.

IMG_2701

Today we used kebana, feta cheese, cocktail onions, tasty cheese, sundried tomato and green olives stuffed with feta, making sure we mixed it up when stringing the toothpicks. We also ensured we catered to the kids by having some toothpicks that were kebana and tasty cheese only and adding ham to the plate.

My tip would be to wash the toothpicks before stringing and place them close together on the orange, so you can’t see the top section of the orange.

IMG_2703

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Events, Food, Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

