The Natural Laundry

Lately I’ve been experimenting with using more natural ingredients in my wash and have been quite surprised by the results and cost savings.

Laundry

Here’s a few tips I’ve picked up that seem to work:

Make Your Whites Whiter – use lemons!
Instead of using bleach or even Napisan in your wash, try lemon juice. The citric acid helps break down stains and makes those whites whiter. Lemon juice is also safe for colours. Add 1 cup of lemon juice to your normal detergent in the wash.

Getting rid of mould and mildew stains
For stubborn mould and mildew stains, try making a paste of lemon juice and salt, apply it to the stain and leave the garment in the sun to dry. Once dry, put the garment in the wash as usual.

Who needs fabric softener when you have white vinegar?
To add softness to your clothes, add 1/2 cup of white vinegar in the last rinse cycle. This also helps to combat lint.

As for the washing detergent, I tend to use Earth as it has more natural properties and is good for the envrionment. I am definitely open to suggestions here though. Anyone?

About ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Rachael. I am a born and bred Queenslander, who loves spending time with her family and pursuing creative hobbies. I am a wife, mother and all-round friend. If you like my posts, please leave me a comment...or two!
This entry was posted in Home, Other and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave me a comment. I love reading them!

